Plans for the Swafford Family

So I spent the last two weeks in Dallas trying to figure out if moving is what’s best for our little family. It was soo hard to be away from Josh that long, and, from what I hear, he was quite cranky while I was gone. But that’s neither here nor there. Anyway, I applied for several jobs, looked at tons of apartments, and just got to know the area a little better. Prior to this trip, I was starting to have major doubts about moving. I mean I’ve lived in Memphis longer than I’ve ever lived anywhere. I know my way around; I know where the good bars are. All (well most) of my friends are here. However, after my little trip, I am totally pumped and jazzed about what will soon be our newest adventure.

After touring dozens of apartments, I narrowed the selection down to my top three. I brought all of the info home, and this past weekend Josh and I picked our new home! I can’t begin to describe how thoroughly excited I am! It’s a fabulous 2br/2bath apt with a huge balcony, enormous closets, and a garden tub located in a complex with more amenities than you’ve ever dreamed of. I’m talking about 8 pools, a lap pool, sand volleyball, two workout centers, a sports bar with billiards, foosball, and shuffleboard, two stadium seating movie theaters, tennis courts, a basketball court, racquetball, a sauna, water volleyball, a coffee bar, an “autospa”, outdoor fireplaces, clay BBQ grills, extended digital cable, a putting green, playground, an English sitting garden, and daily trash pick up at my door! And that’s just the stuff that I remember! This place is like a dream come true! It’s also in an amazing location being close to three major highways, a mall, super walmart, the church I wasn’t to attend, the airport, and tons of other stuff. It’s going to be like living at some sort of resort!

As far as jobs go, I haven’t been offered one yet, but I’m insanely qualified for all of the ones I applied for so we’ll see what happens in the next few weeks.

So we’ll be moving the last week of April. How much packing I get done prior to the wedding will determine whether we leaving the beginning or the end of that week. I’m in the process of getting quotes from full service movers. I don’t know if we’ll be able to afford that or not, but if we can, we’ll defiantly be taking that route. Otherwise, we’ll be renting an Uhaul. There’s something so satisfying about having definite plans for the future. Here’s to Dallas! Whoo-hoo!

Thanks for reading! Do you have any comments or similar experiences? Share your thoughts below. (Even if it's an old post, I'd love to hear from you!)

