update

So it’s been a minute since I posted a blog.What have I been up to lately? Hmm…

San Antonio was amazing! It was seriously one of the best trips of my life. I’m thinking it was probably number 2. After all, it would be insanely hard to top Key West! We stayed with my sister and spent the entire trip downtown on the river or at the Alamodome. It was a super short trip, but it was seriously amazing. If you ever look at my pictures, you know I took about a million. Josh and I are planning to go back sometime in the very near future.

After San Antonio, we had to come back and finish packing the house. We left the boys with my parents for a week, so I was able to get a lot done. And, yes, I mean I got a lot done. Josh literally packed like 3 boxes. Really those don’t even count because Michelle helped him! By the way, I sincerely want to thank the amazing people that helped us move. Michelle, thank you so much for helping us pack and for putting up with Josh’s poor packing skills!! :) Brian and Emily, you two are amazing! Thank you so much for all of your help loading and unloading and cleaning. You two made the move so much fun and you definitely helped keep Josh and me from killing each other during all the stress! Lastly, Logan, thank you for your help loading and unloading and running miscellaneous errands for us over those two days! The move went really well. The only big problems came from Comcast. It literally took 3 weeks to get everything taken care of, but I worked with several very nice people. Note to anyone who cares: You know how comcast runs those commercials about transferring service to your new address online?? DON’T EVER USE THAT SERVICE!! That’s where all our problems stemmed from. It was a disaster. All the phone reps I talked to said they hear that all the time.

We’re currently living in a temporary apartment. We moved into a brand new complex (which is absolutely amazing!!) and because of all the rain, our 3 bedroom apartment wasn’t ready yet. They moved us into a brand new 2 bedroom, where we will be living for FREE until our 3 bedroom is ready. It’s inconvenient not being able to unpack (well I could unpack, but I’m not going to since I know we’ll be moving again in like a month) but it’s not like I can complain. I mean come on. How often do you get to live in a beautiful place for free?!

Aside from our fabulous apartment, which, mind you, is WAY less expensive than our apartment in Cordova and MUCH nicer, I love love love Marion. This is seriously the perfect place to raise a family. No crime. Decent schools. Super friendly people. Plus, we’re literally 10 minutes from downtown. It’s so cool to hop in the car and be walking on Beale Street in 15 minutes tops. If Josh and I didn’t have kids, we would totally live downtown, so this is perfect: close to downtown but in a nice, family-oriented community.  I love riding around, looking at all the different neighborhoods and thinking about where we’ll buy/build one day.

Speaking of which, we’re slowly on our way to accomplishing that goal. We’re doing really well with paying off our debt. If all goes as planned, we should have everything paid off by December 2009. That means we’ll own both our cars (Well, we already paid off the civic. How awesome is that?!) and have no credit card debt. We’re not so worried about paying off our student loans. They don’t hurt your credit. The only way they’ll effect us in terms of buying a house is by reducing our debt-to-income ratio. That totally won’t be a big deal since that’s all we’ll have being factored into that ratio. We’ve weighed all of our options and decided to forgo the “starter home.” We’re going to wait until we can buy or build the home we want to raise our family in. Our plan is to avoid incurring any debt in the future, with the exception of our mortgage, so we really want to save a 20% down payment. That will keep us from paying PMI, and we’ll have equity in our house from day one. However, being fiscally smart unfortunately requires delayed gratification. It could take up to five years for us to be ready to buy/build. That makes me sad because I’m ready for our house NOW. I know it’s what’s best for our financial future though. Despite having to wait for what I want, which is something I’ve never been good at, I’m really proud of us. I feel like we’re making good, solid decisions for our family and our future.

So, I guess that’s about it for now. I love my blog. I think it’s fun to talk about myself. This way, I don’t have to worry about boring the person I’m talking to. If anyone reading this gets bored, they can just stop. It’s perfect. I can ramble on and on and only interested parties have to pay attention to me. Haha. Yeah, I pretty much love my blog!

Thanks for reading! Do you have any comments or similar experiences? Share your thoughts below. (Even if it's an old post, I'd love to hear from you!)

