In Case You Forgot

You’ve made it painstakingly obvious that you have no respect for me. I know whenever you look at me all you can see are my flaws. However, I’d like to remind you that I’ve accomplished quite a bit in my 25 years. I have no regrets and a bright future. Here are some things I’d like you to consider, in case you forgot.

I graduated with honors from the University of Memphis, a school I attended on a full academic scholarship. Not only did I succeed in school, but I did so while working practically full time, participating in my sorority, teaching Sunday School, and completing four internships.

I’m married to an incredible man, who loves me unconditionally and supports me in everything I do.

I have two beautiful, healthy, intelligent, polite children. I put them first in everything I do and constantly strive to be a better mother.

My husband has an amazing job, which he not only loves, but also allows me to stay home and raise our children. A job which not only puts food on our table, but also will provide every member of our family with scholarships to pursue higher education, an unbeatable profit sharing program, and good insurance. A job which happens to be at a Fortune 500 company, and is one of the few industries in this country not suffering during this unsettling economic time.

I efficiently run my household and manage our family finances.

I’m raising my family in this amazing little town with practically no crime and decent schools.

I give back to my community both financially and with my time. While I have no desire to flaunt my philanthropic endeavors, I believe it’s worth mentioning, seeing as how you seem to believe the less fortunate deserve to be that way.

I’m a decent cook, a welcome hostess, and one hell of a party planner.

I love all members of all sides of my family. I recognize that without anyone of them, my little family would be different in some way than what it is today.

I was hugely successful during my one year working in the real world. Any of my supervisors would attest to that statement, and I have treatment outcomes to back it up. I even earned a $2/hour raise in the short time I was employed.

Just so you know, it makes me furious that you’ve branded me with this idea that I will never be good enough, that I will never measure up. You’ve ingrained it so deep into me that I’m not even sure if this letter is even really for you or for me. I just thought I should remind you that I have plenty to be proud of, in case you forgot.

Thanks for reading! Do you have any comments or similar experiences? Share your thoughts below. (Even if it's an old post, I'd love to hear from you!)

