Value of Handwritten Notes

Is it just me or are handwritten notes a lost art? Seriously, how excited do you get when there’s something in the mailbox other than bills? I know I get so excited! Depending on my mood, I either open the “non-bill” first (because I’m so excited) or last (to take away the sting of all the money I have to send off to other people.) With all of the technology we posses, we seem to think it unnecessary to go through the trouble of handwriting a note or card, addressing the envelope, finding a stamp, and mailing it. But, I think that “trouble” is exactly what makes it so special. When I get a little note from a MK sister, a birthday card from a family member, or a note from my grandmother, I know that they put a little extra effort into ME that day. And speaking of birthday cards, why is it that only family sends them? What’s wrong with my peer group? Of course I like having tons of birthday messages on my Facebook wall, birthday texts, and the like, but the cards make me feel really special! The sender went to the store, picked a card that made her think of me, added a little personal note, and mailed it, just so I would feel a little bit more special on my birthday. I think handwritten notes or cards speak volumes about both the character of the sender and the opinion they hold of the recipient. I think, because of the value I place on handwritten notes, I’m going to make it my new goal to mail 10 handwritten notes each week. I suspect, the more I write, the easier it will be to find people/occasions that merit a little handwritten note.  Well, what are you waiting for? Go write a little note and mail it to someone today!

The attached picture is the cover of a book  just found. I’ve never read it, but I plan to pick it up next time I’m out!

The Art of the Handwritten Note by Margaret Shepard

The Art of the Handwritten Note by Margaret Shepard

Thanks for reading! Do you have any comments or similar experiences? Share your thoughts below. (Even if it's an old post, I'd love to hear from you!)

