Just an Update

Picture 1

Wow! I absolutely can not believe how much I’m learning about myself this year! Between my New Year Resolutions and the Love Dare, I feel like I’ve been given a whole new perspective on who I am and what I accomplish. This has been such a fascinating experience and we’re only 10 days into the new year!

The Love Dare has really been eye-opening. Had you asked me 5 days ago if I thought I was a good wife, I would have confidently told you that I was among the best. I really believed that. The Love Dare has shown me how much room I have to grow as a person, a wife, and an example of Christ’s love. I am much more selfish that I realized and I don’t give Josh nearly enough credit for how amazing he is. While I’ve decide to journal about my everyday Love Dare experiences privately, I have no problem sharing these general updates and lessons learned. I seriously considered sharing my whole experience, but I decided that was contradictory to the intimate nature of marriage. Not everything has to be a reality show, right?

As for my New Year Resolutions, I’m doing ok so far. I expected a learning curve and that’s exactly what I’ve gotten. Some days I complete all my daily resolutions, some days I don’t. I want all 7 of my daily resolutions to be solidly ingrained daily habits (hopefully long before) the end of the year.

I got a new calendar for the new year, one with weekly and monthly views. Each day in the weekly view I make a to do list of the 6 most important things I need to accomplish that day and track my resolutions in the upper left corner. Having the calendar has significantly increased my daily productivity. Most days I cross all six to do items off the list. If I don’t, I move them to the next day. I am so impressed with how much I get done each day using this system.

Aside from my house being cleaner than it has been in quite some time, finally being caught up on the ironing that’s been piling up since long before Christmas, and more time for engaging or educational activities for the boys, my new daily tracking system leaves me feeling fulfilled at the end of the day. It’s so gratifying to look at that list and see that I accomplished everything I set out to do that day. So, I’m basically getting a daily self-esteem boost in addition to a cleaner house and happier children. Happy New Year to me!

Thanks for reading! Do you have any comments or similar experiences? Share your thoughts below. (Even if it's an old post, I'd love to hear from you!)

