Updated New Year Resolutions

Because I’ve managed to grow a little bit this year, I feel it’s time to update my New Year Resolutions. To help hold myself accountable, I’m sharing these revisions here.

Daily resolution number 4 shall be appended as follows: I will embrace every opportunity I have to greet Josh, whether on the phone or in person, and do so warmly. (This means that even if I’m cleaning up an explosive dirty diaper, the pot on the stove is boiling over and Andy is pulling the cat’s tail, I will answer the phone cheerfully. I am always happy when Josh has an opportunity to take a break and call me, thus I will convey that with my voice upon answering. There is no need to drag him down with me. Besides, if I open the call with frustration, the call will likely be spent discussing that frustration. I’d much rather take a pleasant couple minute break from whatever reality may be at the moment.)

Daily resolution number 6 shall be stricken and replaced as follows. I will maintain an attitude of gratitude throughout the day. Despite the challenges I am facing in the present moment, I will be grateful for all God has given me. During particularly stressful or challenging moments, I will take time to stop and say a prayer of thanksgiving for all of my many blessings. (Starting out, I will count the goal as complete if I display my “attitude of gratitude” during any one difficult situation. As I get better at this, I will increase. My ultimate goal is to be able to maintain my “attitude of gratitude” throughout the day.)

Daily resolution number 7 shall also be stricken and replaced. It shall now read: I will read one additional chapter or the Bible or study verses relating to a specific topic of interest as indicated in the Catechism. (I’m making a wholehearted effort to learn more each day, and this is obviously a crucial step to accomplishing that goal. Perhaps one day you’ll even be able to refer to me as an apologist.)

As a final note, I’m please to report that daily resolution number 3, which initially I found the most daunting, has turned out to be one of the easiest and very enjoyable. I have never put so much effort into reading in my life, but I absolutely am thrilled with all that I have learned as a result. I’ve even created an additional page on my blog to note the particularly enjoyable/interesting books I’ve read this year. If memory serves me correctly, so far, only one book hasn’t made the cut.

I couldn’t be happier with my overall progress this year. It’s amazing how much power a tracked goal has. Like I’ve said before, tracking is the most important part of goal setting. It’s really easy to set goals, but sticking with them and eventually achieving them all comes down to the tracking. I don’t mean to imply that I successfully complete every goal every day. I definitely don’t yet. But I intend to before the end of the year. So far, I am very pleased with myself and believe I am definitely on the right track.

Thanks for reading! Do you have any comments or similar experiences? Share your thoughts below. (Even if it's an old post, I'd love to hear from you!)

