Big Fish

Since I talk about this place constantly, I decided it would only be fair to share it with the world via the internet. I absolutely ADORE Big Fish on Main Street in Grapevine, TX!! It is seriously one of my favorite places to go. And let me tell you, I am super, incredibly, very picky when we go out to eat. I have really high standards due to working in the restaurant industry for 6 years, but we’re also working on a limited budget these days. If I choose to spend our hard-earned money on you, you better live up to my standards. Or at least make an effort to live up to some standards. Nothing disgusts me more than spending money on a service/product only to be let down. In my humble opinion, if one offers a product or service of any kind, one should take pride in it and ensure its presented correctly. Everything about Big Fish is done right. The atmosphere, the staff, the menu, the food. It’s all exactly as it should be. They don’t try to be anything they’re not, and they’re darn good at being what they are.

They’re just a little “hole in the wall” type venue perfectly situated on Main Street in Historic Grapevine. We all know rule number one, location, location, location. If it weren’t for their incredible location, one could easily walk/drive right by and never even know. But that’s just the beginning of their charm. From Po Boys to Crab Cakes to Steamed Crawfish or Snow Crab, the menu is exactly what I hope to be handed when I sit down at the banquet table in Heaven. (Just kidding, Lord….sort of…) In addition to the regular menu, they have a huge Chalk Board covered in additional fresh fish selections, appetizers and desserts.  Not only do they offer exactly what I would want in a seafood restaurant menu, the prices are extremely reasonable. You definitely get up from the table knowing you got everything you paid for and maybe even a little more.

Now that I’ve abandoned my formed life for the incredibly rewarding, yet often self-sacrificing title of “mommy,” there is nothing that I appreciate more than a venue that can pull off “family friendly” without making you feel like you’re sitting in the middle of a McDonald’s playground. Big Fish scores again. From my observations the crowd is often very diverse, yet the kids never seem to be out of place. From the bar to the cozy booths to the live music (Wednesdays and Saturdays) its more than enough to satisfy my former self without being forced to abandon the kiddos to a babysitter that will more than double the cost of the entire evening out.

The service, while not flawless, is more than acceptable. They even keep the table fairly clean. (Note to anyone who may ever wait on me: if you don’t pre-bus my table, you will be putting a massively huge dent in my entire dinning experience.)  The wait staff dresses casually, has good knowledge of the menu and are very friendly. The kitchen, while I obviously didn’t tour it, more than meets expectations. The food is delicious and well-presented in a timely manner. The dinning room and restrooms are always spotless even during peak hours. It’s not uncommon to have to wait for a table, even up to an hour, if you come during peak hours, but it is well worth the wait. Not to mention, you have all of Main Street to entertain you while you wait.

I repeatedly recommend Big Fish to friends and family, and no one has ever returned with a negative review. It’s one of my favorite places to take out-of-town visitors, as we can do the “tourist thing” around Grapevine and finish it off with a spectacular meal. I’ve yet to have one guest who wasn’t completely enamored with the whole day finding Big Fish to be the perfect finale. Like I said at the onset, I ADORE Big Fish. It is most definitely one of my favorite places to dine, with or without the kids.

Thanks for reading! Do you have any comments or similar experiences? Share your thoughts below. (Even if it's an old post, I'd love to hear from you!)

