Public Servants?

Last time I checked, elected officials were supposed to be public servants. Is that still the case? If so, why are they fighting so hard for something America clearly doesn’t want??

Rasmussen: Majority Oppose Obamacare

I don’t pretend to be a political genius. I’m aware that I know very little when it comes to the ins and outs of politics and government and whatnot. Sometimes I honestly think that puts me at an advantage over those who have spent their lives immersed in it. I’m not so blinded by propaganda that my common sense fails me. Truth be told, the only reason I pay attention to the political scene at all is because I’m a mom now. I feel like I have an obligation to be informed and assert my opinion in the form or a vote for the well being of my children. That being said, this healthcare drama seems like one of these common sense type issues. The vast majority of the American people don’t want this healthcare plan pushed on them. Our President’s response? Set a deadline so we can push it on the American people ASAP. It will be interesting to see how the vote turns out later this week. If I were a so-called “public servant,” I think I’d be a little more attuned to how the public wanted me to serve them.

Thanks for reading! Do you have any comments or similar experiences? Share your thoughts below. (Even if it's an old post, I'd love to hear from you!)

