Free At Last, Free At Last!!

As I sat down to pay bills today, I realized that, for the first time since February 2004, I would not be making a car payment this month!! I bought the Civic back in ’04 and it’s been paid off since the Spring of ’07, but we still had the Santa Fe payment. That’s one of the glorious things we did with our FABULOUS income tax return. I was excited when I saw how much we were getting back, and I was excited when we wrote the check to Hyundai Motor Finance Company, but none of that compares to how excited I am right now! What a difference not having a car payment makes in the monthly budget!!

It makes me a little sad to know we’re going to have to get a new car in the very near future to accommodate our growing family. I’m not entirely sure how we’re going to handle this upcoming car purchase, since it has to be done NOW, but I know that from now on I will NEVER EVER finance anything again. Not a vehicle, not furniture, not a vacation, NOTHING.

I’m not sure how we as a society got this way. I’m not sure why we think we have to have everything right now, exactly when we want it. And I’m not trying to imply that I’m not a sucker for immediate gratification, because I most definitely am. All I know is debt is a burden I’m no longer willing to carry. It’s like our own form of financial prison.

We’re not completely debt free yet, but I definitely can see the light at the end of the tunnel. I get really bummed out about the times we can’t go out to eat or the clothes I can’t buy or whatever because we’ve been working so hard to pay off debt. But, today, I am completely re-energized. Today, I remember exactly why I want to be released from the shackles of debt. Today, I am completely recommitted to our financial goals. I am so proud of the progress we’ve made so far and I can’t wait to be able to announce that we are 100% debt free!

One thought on “Free At Last, Free At Last!!

Thanks for reading! Do you have any comments or similar experiences? Share your thoughts below. (Even if it's an old post, I'd love to hear from you!)

