Things I Will NOT Miss About Renting

1. Wasting our money on rent every month! I’m so excited we’re finally adding equity to our financial vocabulary!

2. Having to listen to the rather large person above us on his/her treadmill at the most inopportune times. I totally admire his/her dedication, but I’m definitely tired of watching my ceiling fixtures shake. Added to the whirring of the treadmill and the fear that the next step will be the one that comes through the ceiling, it’s just too much to put up with sometimes.

3. Upstairs noise in general. Some places are better than others, but we’ve lived with our share of dogs running, children jumping, music blaring, and couples fighting.

4. Having to walk our trash to the dumpster. Admittedly, in this apartment the dumpster is right outside our garage. We’ve even lived places that picked up our trash for us. However, I can’t wait to be able to throw it in the big can and wheel it to the street on our designated day.  (which will be Monday, just in case you’re curious)

5. Having to drive any recyclables to some kind of recycling destination. It will be so nice to throw it all in our 64 gallon recycle bin and leave it on the street each week.

6. Patio gardens. They’re waaay too limited. Granted, I did make a HUGE concession on our yard, but I still intend to plant, plant, and plant some more. I can’t wait for fresh veggies and beautiful flowers!

7.  The inability to compost. I realize I could have had one of those self-contained worm composting containers in my kitchen, but come on. I have boys. Those worms would have regularly been all over my house/garage/patio or wherever I attempted to keep them. Building my compost bin is pretty high on Josh’s “honey-do list” after we move in.

8. The white and beige monotony. I can’t wait to paint, paint and paint some more! I think I previously mentioned having everything picked out except the boy’s room. We’ve made some changes and now I have everything picked out except the playroom. The week we move in we’re painting the foyer, living room, kitchen and back hallway. Next comes the master bedroom and bathroom. Then the boy’s room, the nursery, the boys/hall bathroom, and finally the playroom. Hopefully, we’ll have all the painting done, or at the very least everything up to the nursery, before Ben gets here in June.

9. The car wash inconvenience. I have every intention of putting the kids in their bathing suits, turning on the hose, and passing out soapy towels. Maybe for once my car will be cleaned regularly.

10. The inability to send the kids outside. We go outside together a lot. We have an awesome courtyard right behind us and a fantastic park down the street. But sometimes the kids need to get out and run around when I’m in the middle of something. It will be so nice to send them out into the backyard and watch them from the kitchen window while I pay bills or cook or iron or whatever I’m doing at the moment. I’m sure they will be equally thrilled about never having to hear “We can go out when Mommy’s done with _______.”

Truth be told, we’ve had some great renting experiences. And there are definitely perks that come with living somewhere that you don’t own. The place we live now, Boulder Ridge, is definitely my favorite place we’ve ever lived. A close second would be Chapel Hill in Lewisville. That being said, I’m just so over it. I’m so excited that we’re finally going to be homeowners!

I’m even more excited and very proud that we’re doing it all on our own. We know a lot of people who have been given houses or down payments by their parents. That’s wonderful for them, and I’m sure they’re very appreciative for having been given such an amazing gift. But I’ve always been grateful for the way I’ve been raised. My parents have never given me anything. (Obviously, they gave me a lot in terms of food, shelter, clothing, and even a private education while I was younger. That’s not what I’m talking about.) I got a job when I was 16 to pay for my insurance, so I could have the privilege of driving. I’ve worked for everything I’ve ever gotten, including my college diploma. My parents told me I was welcome to live at home for free while I was in school, but I’m a little more independent than that. I moved out and I’ve supported myself every step of the way. Today, there’s a tremendous sense of pride and accomplishment in being able to look around our home and know that we earned everything we have. I’m so grateful that I get to experience that.

And now it really all will belong to us. We won’t just being paying someone else to borrow their space to shelter our family. Everything, including the roof over our head, will be 100% ours. A celebration is definitely in order!!

Thanks for reading! Do you have any comments or similar experiences? Share your thoughts below. (Even if it's an old post, I'd love to hear from you!)

