And on Another Disturbing Note

After rereading the article cited in my last entry, I decided to read the followup article Austin Pro-Life Doctor on Abortion, Contraception and Euthanasia, which included the following statement from a doctor, “No reasonable person could possibly agree with [the fact] that there is essentially no difference between taking birth control pills and having an abortion.” Umm…hello? You’re a doctor, right? Do you really have no idea what you’re prescribing to your patients? Birth Control pills, shots, patches and rings are all designed to work the same ways and, scarily, no one knows exactly which method works what percentage of the time. First, they attempt to stop ovulation. Second, they thicken cervical mucus to make it harder and hopefully impossible for sperm to swim to the egg should one be released. Lastly, they thin the uterine lining rendering it impossible for a fertilized egg to latch on. Thus, the fertilized egg, which has traveled down the fallopian tube and into the uterus will die and be sloughed out with the woman’s next “period.”  If you believe that life begins at conception, then you believe that artificial birth control causes very early abortions. Read the insert that comes in your birth control packaging. Look it up on the internet. I’m not making this up, people. That crazy abortionist in Austin was dead on when he said that the “brain-washed” Christians who believe life begins at conception are hypocrites for taking birth control bills. If you take artificial contraception, you’ve no doubt aborted or  “intentionally miscarried” multiple “embryos,” potentially one every month that you’ve been sexually active while taking birth control. I think it’s sad that women cluelessly do this every day, but I think it’s an abomination that a doctor, not to mention a presumably “pro-life” doctor, misleads women by telling them that this is not how birth control works. The women of America need to wake up. Do a little research about the chemicals you’re putting in your body every day. If you didn’t know it’s killing your babies, do you know about the increased cancer risks and other health concerns? That’s in the fine print in the package insert too.

4 thoughts on “And on Another Disturbing Note

  1. Mary, I love your blog! We seem to be of the same mind on quite a few things. I’m sorry to hear that you’ve been criticized for your choices and opinions. Just keep doing what you’re doing. You have a lot of support from one very influential book : ) I haven’t tackled the kind of topics that you have here, but I know what it feels like to put a piece of yourself out there on the internet. I’m impressed with how thoughtfully and articulately you’ve argued issues that most people only address with stereotypes and knee-jerk reactions.

    I’m also glad to hear that you and Josh are doing so well. Congrats on the house! I can’t wait until we take that step. We miss seeing you guys and wish you the best. We’ll be thinking about you all and your new little one! God bless!

    • Thank you for all of your sweet comments and support!! We miss yall too! I hope everything is going well for you and Craig. I know you must both be so proud of all of your recent accomplishments. Congratulations!! If you haven’t already taken it, good luck on the bar exam! We think of and pray for yall often. Keep us in your prayers too. <3

  2. Now, personally, I’ve read a couple of blog posts on WordPress about this whole birth control debate. I find it not too surprising that women against birth control are against it from mainly the stand point of it being used as birth control. I’ve been on birth control since I was 15-16 years old, not because I was having sex, but because I was diagnosed with Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome.

    I don’t have periods for 3-6 months. This is not healthy, my periods would be consistently extremely painful for me to go through. Being on the pill for me is more than just trying to use it as birth control, it helps me have a period every month, have a less severe period, and have one that isn’t as long.

    I know I’m not the only one who uses the pill because they’re hormones are off and so their periods are off. So, I know the side effects of it, and I do eventually want to get off of it because it is synthetic hormones being pumped into me… I just can’t stop using it because every time I have, like screwed up clockwork, my period is non-existent for an extended period of time and I can’t do without it. I’ve tried, but it’s the only thing for me that seems to work.

    • First and foremost, I want to thank you so much for sharing your story with me! I am truly sorry about the pain you’ve dealt with over the years, not to mention the many other unpleasant or embarrassing symptoms of PCOS. What saddens me more is the outlook of many OB/GYNs in this country. They prescribe the pill because it’s a quick fix for PCOS or Endometriosis or a number of other women’s health issues. The reason this saddens me is because the pill does not treat any of these conditions. It masks the symptoms and makes the woman more comfortable, but often complicates the underlying problem. In the case of PCOS, it turns out that the underlying cause is insulin resistance. Not only does birth control not treat insulin resistance, a study published in the medical journal, Fertility and Sterility, showed that birth control pills exacerbate insulin resistance. That means the many, many women being prescribed birth control to help with PCOS are actually inadvertently making their conditions worse and increasing their dependence on the pill to merely get by. How sad is that? We rely on doctors to give us the best medical advice, yet, too often in the case of women’s health issues, doctors go for what’s easiest rather than what’s truly best for the patient. PCOS is a complex issue and sadly there isn’t a pill out there that can cure it. I’m definitely not telling you how you should proceed in treating your PCOS. I’m just pointing out that there are other options that actually address the real cause of the issue and don’t come with the side effects of the birth control pill. It may be something to discuss with your doctor. Or it may be a reason to find a doctor that specializes it treating PCOS, not just covering it up. I wish you the very best of luck! I hope you are able to find a treatment method that you are happy with and that provides you honest relief from PCOS.

Thanks for reading! Do you have any comments or similar experiences? Share your thoughts below. (Even if it's an old post, I'd love to hear from you!)

