And The Hits Keep On Coming

Justice Antonin Scalia with his wife, Maureen

I’ve previously shared my disgust at the battery of commentary and critiques that have been thrown my way simply because I’m pregnant, and more specifically because I’m pregnant with my third child when my oldest is only 4. Random strangers, pseudo-friends, family members, anyone and everyone seems to think that I’m an open target for their nasty comments and whacked logic. Today I got hit from an entirely new angle. While reading up on all of the drama, discussion, and debate surrounding Elena Kagan, I came across this lovely little blog entry where I read the following statement:

“Now that the sex lives of Supreme Court justices have become grist for commentators, we are finally free to discuss a question formerly only whispered about in the shadows: Why does Justice Antonin Scalia, by common consent the leading intellectual force on the Court, have nine children? Is this normal? Or should I say “normal,” as some people choose to define it? Can he represent the views of ordinary Americans when he practices such a minority lifestyle? After all, having nine children is far more unusual in this country than, say, being a lesbian.”

Granted, this statement wasn’t directed at me or even at anyone I know. Truthfully, prior to reading this I couldn’t have even told you who Antonin Scalia was, let alone how many children he has. (And don’t get on to me for that unless you can name all the Supreme Court Justices without google’s assistance.) But that’s not the point. The point is the general mindset of this “modern liberal thinker.” The problem is his view of children and of life and how rampant it is in society at large. And to make it even better, what are a slew of the reader comments about? How it’s “irresponsible” to have your own children when you could be out there adopting children. In case your unfamiliar with my response to that absurd argument, click here.

I am so sick of people’s general attitude towards children. They’re people. They have dignity. I hate to break it to Mr. Kinsley and whoever he has cocktails with after work, children aren’t the problem. The problem is that people like him put off having children until they’ve conquered all kind of ultimately meaningless goals at work and in their bank accounts. Then, when they finally decide the time is “right”, and assuming their wife hasn’t been rendered infertile by those ridiculous artificial hormones she’s been consuming every day for the past 25 years, they bring a child into the world. But guess what? They’re old and they don’t have the patience to learn how to be good parents. So they don’t. They hire a nanny or send their kid to day care or give him 50 bucks and tell him to get lost for the evening. They view children as a nuisance, not a gift, which Mr. Kinsley captures so beautifully in is quick yet utterly offensive entry.

I’ve got news for you, Mr. Kinsley, I have no doubt that I will find immensely more happiness in this life (and not to mention the next) due to my openness to life than you will ever find being “normal”. And as for your obnoxious commenters, I (and I would be willing to make a very large wager that the same is true for Antonin Scalia and his wife) do not have children to “prove something” to you selfish, leftist, baby-killers. I have children because they are a joy and they bless my life in ways that you can’t fathom because you’re too busy trying to get your kid out of your hair for five more minutes. And, based on the statistics regarding contraception and divorce, there’s something else that the Scalias and I have in common: COMPLETE satisfaction with our marital partners. Yes, Mr. Kinsley I’m implying that Supreme Court Justice Scalia has a better sex life then you, despite having 9 kids and being married since 1960. (I am NOT implying that is why he has 9 kids in the first place.) I’d also be willing to bet that you’ll never hear about the Scalias divorcing. I could almost guarantee that he loves his wife more and respects her in ways you could never even fathom. These are things that today’s “normal” people just can’t wrap their heads around. They’re too self absorbed to even contemplate self-sacrifice as the means to real happiness.

Truth be told, I feel sorry for you and all of the sheep out there who are just like you, Mr. Kinsley. I know that without a major renovation of your lifestyle you will continue to jump from one fleeting happiness to the next, never understanding what it really means to live, and taking it out in your bitter little news columns. I hate it that your opinion corresponds with the majority of society because I know what that means your lives will be like. It’s not a matter of differences of opinions. Statistics are on my side. The “normal” life that you so vehemently protect is empty. You have to recognize that it’s empty. Yet, you write of it as if people like the Scalias and my family are the abnormal ones. Do you do this just to make your self feel better? Or are you really so blinded that you wouldn’t recognize true happiness if it bit you on the behind?

2 thoughts on “And The Hits Keep On Coming

  1. Thanks for your support! And if you want baby number 3, go for it! I personally think it must be easier to have more babies when you’re still in baby mode. Right now, you’ve got all the baby stuff out. You’re used to changing diapers. You’re used to having you’re life totally consumed by little ones that need you for everything. Why wait until you’ve got it all packed away and have started a new chapter to try to get back into baby mode? But that’s just my two cents. Wishing you and your family the best of luck!

Thanks for reading! Do you have any comments or similar experiences? Share your thoughts below. (Even if it's an old post, I'd love to hear from you!)

