Beauty Wins Out

I realize I’ve already been on my human dignity soapbox once today, but I just can’t help myself. And, truthfully, I don’t feel that bad about it either. After all, what cause is greater than defending the dignity of the human person? Unfortunately, this observation comes to late to do anything about it, other than make a point. Lowe’s was doing an online vote to help distribute $1 million to charities. Each charity got $100,000 for participating and the remaining $400,000 is to be distributed proportionately based on the number of votes it got. The four charities selected were: Keep America Beautiful, American Forests, the National Park Foundation, and Water.org. Obviously, all are worthy causes, but some causes should be worth more than others. Only one of the four charities selected directly benefits the human person. As you can probably guess from the name, Water.org strives to bring clean drinking water and proper sanitation to those who don’t have access to it. A hugely important cause.

The official results of Lowe’s charitable giving campaign won’t be out until Saturday, but, after I voted, I could see that Water.org had only received about 9% of the vote. The landslide winner, from the “unofficial” pie chart displayed to me, was the National Park Foundation. Seriously?? We’d rather see huge sums of money spent on maintaining public parks than providing the most basic and necessary resource to people around the world? I just don’t understand that. I just don’t understand what’s wrong with us as a society. I just don’t understand how we can value pretty spaces to go on vacation above someone else’s most basic needs. I just don’t understand. And I don’t want to. I hope I never value my vacation and pretty views more than human life.

Women in Africa travel for miles each day, a journey that is both dangerous and debilitating, to collect water for their families.

4 thoughts on “Beauty Wins Out

  1. Hi Mary,

    Thank you for your post and for being such a passionate advocate for those in need of safe water and sanitation! And hey – my dad graduation from Memphis too! :)

    We truly appreciate your support, compassion, and willingness to take action to make a difference in this world. We are honored to work beside you.

    All the best!
    Erin Swanson
    Water.org

Thanks for reading! Do you have any comments or similar experiences? Share your thoughts below. (Even if it's an old post, I'd love to hear from you!)

