Komen Calls It Quits

Because every time I log into Facebook I am bombarded with angry people (well, actually, just two people, but they post A LOT) protesting over Komen for the Cure cutting ties with Planned Parenthood, and because I have neither the time, inclination, nor desire to become part of an endless comment war, and because I feel like I might explode if I don’t say something in a public forum, I offer you the following post. Granted, the specific people it is directed toward will probably never read it, but I’m ok with that. I just want to make my point without having to neglect my children for the next 12 hours while “discussing” the issue  with people who won’t actually listen to anything I have to say. That’s the funny thing about arguing points on the internet. It’s seems kind of futile. Nevertheless, I’m going to indulge myself and make a few points that seem incredibly obvious to me, but have yet to see anyone else consider.

  • If I were an organization of any kind and someone who had been giving me money for  years and years indicated they would no longer be donating to me, and I felt the need to take such information to the media, I would have approached it entirely differently. I would have issued a statement saying something like this: “We would like to thank so-and-so for faithfully donating to our organization for the last ___ years. We are sincerely grateful for their support and have had the opportunity to do a lot of good with the funds they provided. Because of the good we were able to do through their support, we wholeheartedly hope to be able to reestablish a partnership with so-and-so in the future.” But that’s not quite what happened. Every article I’ve read is viciously attacking Komen and even demanding that they reinstate their funding. Umm, what? One organization and its band of followers now feels it has the right to DEMAND money from other organizations? This is even more horrific when considering that this particular organization claims to be a non-profit organization while boasting well over $1 million in excess revenue for 2009/2010. Now, I don’t know anything about running a non-profit, but it seems like they have more than enough resources to meet their needs. I don’t think anyone has a right to demand money from anyone else, but it is especially ludicrous when it is so apparent that PP is not struggling to provide the services they offer.
  • Speaking of services, if I were a cancer fighting organization that granted money to other organizations to further those endeavors, I would ensure that to organizations I partnered with were the best suited to carry out my mission. Susan G. Komen fights breast cancer, Planned Parenthood does vary little in regards to breast cancer. They offer manual breast exams, much like what you can do yourself in the shower. They do not offer mammograms. I called my local PP just to make sure. The creator of the proceeding  link called many Planned Parenthoods, all with the same result. No mammograms.
  • Again, if I were a cancer fighting organization, I certainly would not want to be granting money to an organization that offers women a product that will eventually give them the cancer I’m fighting. While PP may offer other services, I’d say the services they are best known for are birth control and abortion, both of which are known to increase one’s risk of breast cancer. Oral contraceptives are a known carcinogen and abortions are a “significant independent risk factor” for breast cancer. Even if PP offered mammograms, it seems that effort is counterproductive in light of the fact that they are increasing women’s risk for breast cancer daily.

Aside from the disgraceful behavior on the part of Planned Parenthood and her supporters, my last two points seem to make it very clear that Planned Parenthood is simply not a good match for Komen grants. Why would Komen want to fund an organization that is clearly not in line with her mission? For me, this is a very logical change on Komen’s behalf. The two organizations just don’t seem to be a good match for each other.

One thought on “Komen Calls It Quits

  1. Pingback: Komen Caves? « ~Just Another Day in Paradise~

Thanks for reading! Do you have any comments or similar experiences? Share your thoughts below. (Even if it's an old post, I'd love to hear from you!)

