Selfish = Loveless

In a homily on May 14 Pope Francis explained that the devil tricks people into being selfish, then leaves them loveless. This wisdom is brilliant. And timely. And timeless. I so love the simplicity with which Pope Francis explains our beautiful faith. More than simple, he makes it so applicable. You walk away from him knowing how your faith should impact your behavior. His wisdom is so practical.

But back to selfish and loveless.

I think that is the root of the problem in that 32 video I posted a few weeks ago.

I think the majority of women my age lead fairly selfish lives. I don’t have evidence to back that up. It’s simply my opinion based on the people I know and know about. I think most women I know of are completely self-obsessed, only interested in what’s good for them, easy for them, or fun for them. And I think this is why they feel so empty, like the woman in that video.

Now, before you misunderstand me, I am well aware that I, too, am an incredibly selfish person. I, too, choose ease, and fun, and self-advancement when possible. I’m certainly not pretending that I’m some kind of selfless saint. It’s just that my lifestyle is intrinsically less me-focused than the lifestyles that many other women my age choose. I am raising four other human beings. All of whom have many needs. Most of which have to be put before my own. Despite my own selfish tendencies, my lifestyle often doesn’t allow for many selfish choices. But I’m happy. And incredibly fulfilled.

It’s not as though each moment of my day is pure bliss. Any mother, or even pet owner, knows that when you are responsible for another life there are many less than blissful moments. But when I step outside myself and look in on me and my life, I don’t see the monotony and discontent that the lyricist in that video sees. I see joy. I see love. I see happiness.

So, basically, I think the Pope is right. I think he hit the nail right on the head. And I think that 32 video is evidence to support my theory.

Exactly

Thanks for reading! Do you have any comments or similar experiences? Share your thoughts below. (Even if it's an old post, I'd love to hear from you!)

