A Little Tribute to Amazon Prime

2013-11-26 13.27.58

This is what was delivered from Amazon today. I’ve been wearing out our sweet delivery guy since I started Christmas shopping last month.

Can I just take a moment to say: I LOVE AMAZON PRIME!!!

Seriously. I’m completely head over heels, infatuated, obsessed, and in love. I’ve had a membership since June and, every time I log in to Amazon, I fall more in love with Prime.

I know some people complain about the streaming video selection, but I originally got it for the free two day shipping, so the free instant video is just an added bonus for me. And what a fabulous bonus that is since it allowed me to discover Downton, the television love of my life!

So, why exactly do I love Amazon Prime?

  1. In general, Amazon is organized, reliable, and available to me 24/7.
  2. Two day shipping…and sometimes even faster! The Christmas presents I ordered LAST NIGHT at like 9:00 PM arrived on my doorstep TODAY around lunchtime.
  3. DOWNTON ABBEY!!!
  4. Free shipping. I seriously detest paying for shipping. That may be illogical or irrational or unfair, but it is what it is. If I can’t get free shipping, I’m probably going to go find the same product somewhere else. If you charge me shipping, you better have an absolutely unbeatable, rock-bottom price or offer me some amazing gift with purchase. Otherwise, I’m going somewhere else where my spoiled shipping desires will be accommodated.
  5. No games. I don’t have to mess with all of that price slashing, free gift stuff. Amazon is simple and straight-forward.
  6. Streaming videos through the Wii.
  7. Lots of free kiddie shows that keep my kiddos occupied when I desperately need to clean something, cook something, or take a shower.
  8. I don’t have to freak out when I forget to order my text books until the week before class starts. They’ll be here in 2 days!
  9. Earlier this year, I planned a lesson for our coop and decided to use a Dr. Seuss book that we didn’t already have. I could have loaded all the kids in the van, driven to Barnes and Noble, and wrestled with them in the store while they repeatedly said, “Mommy, look at this! Mommy, look at this! Mommy, can we get this??” But, instead, I jumped on Amazon, previewed the book to make sure it was actually going to meet my needs, ordered it, and it arrived in plenty of time before I was scheduled to teach.
  10. With the above coop lesson, I actually planned to use a different book, but, because I could see a preview, I realized I didn’t want that book, and chose the Dr. Seuss book, which couldn’t have been more perfect for the lesson.
  11. Amazon has everything. And usually for a really good price. I buy almost everything from Amazon these days: gifts, household items, school stuff, you name it. (The only thing I don’t regularly get from Amazon is clothes. Their clothes are rarely the best deal I can find.)
  12. The convenience of online shopping. Sure, this isn’t exclusive to Amazon, but I love shopping online. We wouldn’t even be having this conversation if they weren’t an online retailer.
  13. Fun IMAX movies and other documentaries in their instant library. Andy’s been learning about the composition of the Earth. Today, after he finished his formal science lesson, he got to watch Ring of Fire, an IMAX documentary about volcanoes. He loved it, and it required no cost or effort on my part.
  14. I am completely finished with my Christmas shopping! I never had to set foot in a store, wait in line, and I feel extremely confident that I got great deals on everything I purchased. Now, I can sit back, enjoy Thanksgiving, and, then, have a joyous Advent, preparing my heart and home for the birth of the Savior. I credit Amazon (at least in part) for my ability to have a proper Advent, rather than rushing around getting caught up in the hustle and bustle of  material Christmas preparation.
  15. Amazon has never, ever let me down. My packages are never poorly packaged. They are always on time. They always under-promise and over-deliver.

Ok, so a lot of the reasons aren’t specific to Prime, they’re available to all Amazon customers. But, Amazon definitely knew what they were doing by offering Prime memberships. Since I got my membership, I use Amazon waaay more than I ever did in the past. I pay them for an annual membership that has led me to shop with them more. And I couldn’t be happier about it! Each time I shop with them, they impress me, which only solidifies my appreciation for and devotion to them. Way to go, Amazon. You’re brilliant and I love you!

One thought on “A Little Tribute to Amazon Prime

  1. Pingback: Amazon Makes Me Smile | ~Just Another Day in Paradise~

Thanks for reading! Do you have any comments or similar experiences? Share your thoughts below. (Even if it's an old post, I'd love to hear from you!)

