Christmas Morning Menu Ideas 2013

This post is a work in progress.

As you may already know, I’m a list maker. I’m not usually an electronic list maker. I like paper lists. Only very recently (like 6 months ago) did I finally cave and start using the calendar on my phone instead of my tried-and-true notebook style calendar. My phone calendar still poses some limitations for me, but I really like that it’s available to both Josh and me no matter where we are. But I digress…

Anyway, as I’m planning for any special occasion, I begin saving ideas. My favorite format ever used for this endeavor was some app/website that a friend recommended. But I can’t remember what that was. Or even what friend suggested it. It was fabulous. I could save websites in “notebooks” and add my thoughts and whatnot. It was the easiest way I’ve ever gathered recipes for our Christmas Eve celebration.

But, since that website doesn’t seem to want to be part of my life this year, being that it’s hiding from me in some distance recesses of the internet, I needed somewhere to save my thoughts. Somewhere that I would remember where it was. Somewhere that wouldn’t be turned into a coloring sheet or craft project. Thanks to my inability to remember where I put *anything* these days, my blog seemed like the most logical choice. So here I am.

This post will change and be updated as I discover more. Feel free to disregard it or share your thoughts with me. Either way, I’ll know where my recipes for Christmas morning are.

Just in case your curious, we have Christmas morning at our house with just our family. The meal is usually more of a brunch than a breakfast. It also needs to be somewhat easy, very yummy, and kid (and Josh)-approved.

Cranberry, Orange & Pecan Coffee Cake

cranberry orang pecan coffee cakeThis is really high on my list. In fact, I’m not sure I can imagine a more perfect coffee cake for Christmas morning. I suspect Andy and Josh will not agree. I think I may have to make it anyway. We shall see…

Sausage Balls

sausage ballsI used to make sausage balls somewhat regularly when were were first married. They remind me of my sweet friend Ginny from high school and her mama. Her mama always had lot of yummy treats in her kitchen and she almost always made sausage balls  for breakfast after sleepovers. I don’t think I’ve made them in at least 5 years. I think it would be an exciting Christmas morning surprise for Josh.

These aren’t linked to anything because it’s just a 1-1-2 recipe. (1 lbs sausage, 1 lbs cheese, 2 cups bisquick. Combine. Bake. Viola.) However, I just discovered there is a cream cheese variation. That just sounds scrumptious. FYI: healthy eating rules don’t apply on Christmas morning. ;)

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

blueberry french toastThis looks so yummy! It will definitely be easy because it’s an overnight recipe. The only down side to that is we host Christmas Eve festivities, so I don’t know that I’ll have a dish to spare. I suppose I could make it after the party winds down, just before we’re getting ready for midnight Mass. Can I serve this and the cranberry coffee cake? That’s probably overkill for just our family. Hmm…I suppose I’ll have to choose.

Also, Andy won’t eat this. But I don’t think he’ll eat any of what I’m thinking about so far…

Cheesy Apple Bacon Brunch Casserole

cheesy apple bacon brunch

This would be fun and different. I like the idea of the biscuity apple crust. Based on reviews and instinct, I think I’d double the apples (because that’s what really excites me about this recipe, so I want to play it up) and the eggs (because I want it to be more of an egg dish than a biscuit dish.

Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Breakfast-Casserole-Trishas-Southern-Kitchen_s4x3_sm (Boo for little pictures.)

This is a good option, too. I don’t like the idea of white bread on the bottom. I think it would end up pretty mushy and that’s not what I’m going for. But I think I could do something really similar with some cubed potatoes on the bottom. And I think I’d use spicy sausage because this family likes a little kick in our food.

green-fancy-line-md

That’s it for now. I’ll keep adding more recipes and ideas as I find them.

One thought on “Christmas Morning Menu Ideas 2013

  1. Pingback: Christmas Eve Tamale Dinner | ~Just Another Day in Paradise~

Thanks for reading! Do you have any comments or similar experiences? Share your thoughts below. (Even if it's an old post, I'd love to hear from you!)

