Amazon Makes Me Smile

amazon smile picIf you follow my blog, you already know that I’m obsessed with Amazon. Believe it or not, my obsession has grown just a little bit more. One of the things I quietly appreciate about Amazon is that they don’t use their profits to support any organization that I would not want to support. They have been criticized for their lack of philanthropic efforts, but, while I would certainly encourage a little philanthropy, it’s so refreshing to know that I don’t have to worry about what my money is inadvertently supporting when I shop with them. Now, they have taken that refreshment a step further by allowing me to determine what charitable contributions result from my purchases. I simply love this idea!

A member of my homeschooling group at church and an amazon.com employ sent out the following email to our group this week:

Hello all,

I just wanted to pass along this opportunity for you to support charities through your use of Amazon.com. Amazon recently announced a program whereby Amazon will make donations to your selected charity based on your purchases (MANY Catholic charities are listed). Instead of shopping through amazon.com, use smile.amazon.com. Once you have logged in you can search and select a charity to support. Amazon will donate 0.5% of the price of your eligible AmazonSmile purchases to the charitable organization of your choice. AmazonSmile is the same Amazon you know. Same products, same prices, same service.

(FYI – Local Catholic Radio, GRN 910AM, is part of La Promesa Foundation in Midland, TX so selecting La Promesa would directly support Catholic Radio in North Texas. )

Let me know if you have any questions.

—–

p.s. In the
interest of full disclosure, I do work for Amazon.com.

How cool is that?? Whatever your pet project may be, you can support it with your regular purchases. I think this is brilliant. And, while it certainly is possible that this initiative may fund projects or organizations I don’t agree with, at least I know those projects and organizations aren’t technically getting any of my money. Perhaps it’s splitting hairs, but it makes me happy nonetheless. Happy shopping!

Thanks for reading! Do you have any comments or similar experiences? Share your thoughts below. (Even if it's an old post, I'd love to hear from you!)

