SST # 3: Recharged and Rejuvenated

Small-Success-Thursday-550x330This week has been such a beautiful gift for me. Since November, I’ve felt like I’ve been living in crisis mode, barely holding it together, simply hopping from one near catastrophe to the next. But, this week, everything changed. For the first week in a very, very long time, we had a fairly open calendar and no one was sick. It gave us a much needed opportunity to just function like normal, to get back to our normal routine. And it was glorious! To top it all off, the weather was beautiful! 60s and 70s and a lot of sun. What a gift!

  1. The kids have played outside every day since Valentine’s Day. This is so good for everyone involved. They get to burn off some steam and take in some vitamin D, while I have some downtime to get caught up on my school work, chores, or even just sit in the sun and rest. It has really had such a positive impact on our whole week.
  2. Josh and I had a really nice date night. On Monday nights, Josh and I have a sitter so we can go to our Bradley class. I really enjoy the class in general, but I especially love doing the class with him. It’s been so good for us to work through all the material together. And it’s been especially good for me, helping to heal some of the
    My Valentine Cuties!

    My Valentine Cuties!

    “wounds” I had incurred from our last crazy birth experience. (Maybe one day I’ll tell you all about it, but I’ll spare you for now.) After class, we went to Marble Slab and brought home our yummy treats to enjoy while we watched our DVRd episode of Downton Abbey. It wasn’t anything fancy or special, but it was a really great night together nonetheless.

  3. The kids are really starting to mature and act more responsibly. Since I stayed up much too late on date night, I ended up sleeping in later than I usually do the next morning. When I got up, I found that kids had done all of their “morning jobs,” had breakfast, and were starting on school! I was so very proud of them! Normally, they would have just taken advantage of the situation and turned on the TV. I asked the boys how/why they decided to get to work and Andy proudly proclaimed that it was his idea. He said he was being the “man of the house.” I was so thrilled and impressed!  (Thank you, God, for occasionally allowing me to see fruits from my efforts!!)

So there you have it. This week’s small successes. What are  yours? Join the linkup over at Catholicmom.com!

8 thoughts on “SST # 3: Recharged and Rejuvenated

  1. Oh my word. How precious is that? Well done to the little “Man of the House” and well done you! That is a date night. I mean – you had alone time right?
    We have been enjoying the warm weather here in Fort Worth. I’m afraid it will be back in the 40’s by the end of next week, but we are soaking it in while we can.
    Blessings to you.
    Em

  2. Sounds like a good week to me! Glad you are enjoying the nice weather. We just had a cold front come through. I am scared to see what the temp will be tomorrow lol.

  3. I would love to hear about your latest birth experience! And we are fans of Downton Abbey as well. What is a Bradley Class, though? I confess I’ve never heard of it.

  4. I’ll have to sit down and write about my little Leila’s birth one day. It was definitely my most “traumatic.”

    Bradley is a method of natural childbirth that focuses on the husband coaching the wife through labor. I love, love, love it. Everyone in our class is first time parents, and I’m sure they are learning a TON, but I’ve been pleasantly surprised at how much we’ve learned also. Not to mention how empowering it is to know that my husband is better trained to coach me through and advocate for me as needed during our upcoming birth. It’s been a really good experience for us. I’ll have to let you know how it pans out in the delivery room! :)

Thanks for reading! Do you have any comments or similar experiences? Share your thoughts below. (Even if it's an old post, I'd love to hear from you!)

