B is for Bath Time

This post is part of the A to Z Blogging Challenge. To see all the posts in the series, click here

 

That's my mom bathing baby number 2 for me. I probably begged her to. But, judging by this picture, it seems I may have come by my poor baby-bathing skills honestly. ;)

That’s my mom bathing baby number 2 for me. I probably begged her to. But, judging by this picture, it seems I may have come by my poor baby-bathing skills honestly. ;)

Because I have 5 kids you might think that I must be an expert at all things baby. However, if you were to think that, you’d be wrong.

I’ve learned a lot in my 8 short years of parenting. There are some things that used to feel very foreign but have now become second nature to me. Despite that, there’s still a lot that I don’t do well and some things that still terrify me. One of those things is clipping tiny little finger nails. That job has been permanently assigned to my sweet husband because I simply can’t do it. Another is bath time, which, unfortunately, I haven’t been able to pass off to my husband.

Newborns are just so small and fragile and wiggly. Getting them wet on top of all that just seems like a disaster waiting to happen. Not to mention, it is virtually impossible to keep them warm enough while they’re all wet.  They almost always end up crying, and, sometimes, so do I.

It all turned out well in the end. It usually does, I guess.

It all turned out well in the end. It usually does, I guess.

I’ve tried every method I can imagine. I’ve bathed them in the sink. In a variety of those plastic infant tubs. On infant shaped sponges in the bathtub. I’ve laid them on a towel on the counter and given them a sponge bath of sorts.

It’s all to no avail.

I simply do not feel confident bathing newborns.

I don’t think raising 100 kids would be able to change that.

 

4 thoughts on “B is for Bath Time

  1. Well, look at that very content face in the end! All well that ends well. I have one daughter and she’ll turn eleven this year, so I’ve forgotten a lot about these first fragile weeks.

  2. I made my husband bathe our newborn too. She was so tiny in a sink full of bubbly water and her eyes were HUGE. The crying came a few bath times later. And now, finally, a few months ago or so she is enjoying baths like babies should! I found you via the A-Z Challenge!

  3. With kp I would put her tub on the living room floor because I was so scared of dropping her, and it’s my biggest worry with this one too.

  4. I just remember trying to give the quickest bath I could for them those first few months; I was glad when they were sitting on their own and you could prop them in something in the bath tub and they enjoyed playing, but getting there was a bit of a challenge.

    betty

Thanks for reading! Do you have any comments or similar experiences? Share your thoughts below. (Even if it's an old post, I'd love to hear from you!)

