H is for “How Do You Do it?”

All April long, I’m blogging alphabetically about Adjusting to Life to Life with Baby Number 5. Click here to see all the posts in this series. 

2014-03-06 15.37.40“How do you do it?” This is one of the most common questions I get asked. People observe my family size and automatically assume that I must be more patient, more organized, or richer than they are. The truth is, I’m not. I’m probably a lot like you. And I haven’t uncovered any secret parenting advice that makes everything magically fall in to place either.

I’m just a mom who loves being a mom (most days) and who is willing to do what it takes to make it work.

Just like you, I take my challenges one day at a time. I prioritize and problem-solve the best way I know how.

Sometimes I even have to swallow my pride and ask for help.

I wish I had some secret parenting advice to share. Then, maybe I could write a best seller and travel and get rich sharing my secret with the world. Then, I wouldn’t need to be patient or organized because I could just hire people to help with whatever tasks I didn’t want to do. But, alas, that’s not the world I live in. And I think I prefer it that way.

When my friends become new mommies they always call and ask me for my secrets. I’m flattered, but I’m afraid I probably leave them disappointed. All I say is,

Never count the dirty diapers or lost hours of sleep. Only count the precious moments like baby smiles and the “wuv you”s uttered by your toddler.

Remember that you and your husband are a team; it’s way too easy to make him the enemy and take things out on him.

And, most importantly, be patient with YOURSELF. You’re just learning how to be a mommy. It takes a lot of hard work and will stretch you in ways you never knew you could bend.

One thought on “H is for “How Do You Do it?”

  1. Every family is different and you do have your secrets. It’s how we make it work. I have mine for sure! But my family is very different from… well, any of my other friends. So mostly I make up my own rules. lol And I’m learning to be organized. I hate being disorganized but I’m really good at it…

Thanks for reading! Do you have any comments or similar experiences? Share your thoughts below. (Even if it's an old post, I'd love to hear from you!)

