M, N, O, P – Moms Need Other People

All April long, I’m blogging alphabetically about Adjusting to Life to Life with Baby Number 5. Click here to see all the posts in this series.

 

(L to R) Leila, Me, my sister, Meghan, and her daughter, Mia.

(L to R) Leila, Me, my sister, Meghan, and her daughter, Mia.

I wanted to write this post because it’s a lesson I desperately need to learn.

The problem is I haven’t learned it yet.

All I know is I desperately need a community of other moms.

Sometimes for emotional support.

Sometimes as a sounding board.

Sometimes just to know that there are other people struggling with the same struggles.

Sometimes to get good ideas from. Or share ideas with. Or to trade recipes.

Sometimes to have someone to laugh with. Or have someone to laugh at myself with me.

Sometimes to have someone offer words of encouragement. Or to be that encouragement for someone else.

My kids participated in a new coop this year. It was small and intimate. I loved it. My very favorite part was visiting with the other moms while the kids were playing after their lesson. I had some of the best conversations I’ve ever had during that time – certainly some of the most edifying.

I don’t know why, but I have a tendency to isolate myself. To think I can do everything on my own. To refuse to ask for help when I need it.

Now I know that moms need other people. I need other people. I need to hang out with other moms.

But I still don’t do it. At least not as often as I should. And I never initiate it.

I’m finally starting to understand how much I need other people.

Now I just need to do something about it.

4 thoughts on “M, N, O, P – Moms Need Other People

  1. Sometime (maybe when you’re done with school?) want to have a play date? I’ve been meaning to ask but know how busy y’all are!

  2. great use of your letters! And yes, we sure need other moms! Oh, my….SO important. I tend to hang by myself too, but the laughter I can have with other mom is like medicine. :-)

Thanks for reading! Do you have any comments or similar experiences? Share your thoughts below. (Even if it's an old post, I'd love to hear from you!)

