S, T, U – Surrender to the Unexpected

All April long, I’m blogging alphabetically about Adjusting to Life to Life with Baby Number 5. Click here to see all the posts in this series.

expect the unexpected

Surrender to the unexpected.

This is a lesson the control freak in me really needs to learn. It’s a good life lesson in general, but with 5 kids, it’s unavoidable. Something unplanned, unexpected, or inconvenient happens nearly every day. Sometimes multiple times a day.

In my head I’m the kind of person who rolls with the punches. I’m flexible, up for anything, and can easily change plans. I’m spontaneous, unpredictable, and a lot of fun.

In reality I’m not really like that at all.

To keep my household, which includes our homeschool, running smoothly, I have to be fairly organized and on a schedule. I’m not the type to write out a schedule in 15 minute increments, but I have a pretty clear idea about what we need to accomplish and the time frame we need to accomplish it in.

But life often gets in the way. Spills happen. Someone gets a booboo. Art projects take longer than expected. Little boys paint mattresses with toothpaste.

A lot of times these kind of things freak me out. The more I can see our schedule melting into oblivion, the more stressed out I become.

But that’s not how I want to be.

I want to be more like the person I imagine myself to be. I want to surrender to the unexpected, go with the flow, and readjust as needed. Most importantly I want to do that without my stress level going through the roof.

Because the truth of the matter is that all that unplanned, unexpected stuff is what life is made of. If I keep trying to avoid it all, I could be missing out on some of the best life has to offer.

2 thoughts on “S, T, U – Surrender to the Unexpected

  1. I can relate. I homeschool 5 kids … and I constantly have to reminder myself that life happens. In the middle of all my plans, life gets in the way. Thank goodness I’ve got God on my side, who is not surprised by a single thing that happens in my day! :)

  2. I can relate too. I finally came to understand that i really have very little control over life. :-) Even stuff I think I’m in charge of…it’s a delusion. Character and strength come when we just deal with what IS. As a woman of faith, I know the only one in control of anything is God. And He loves me, so I’m OK. :-)

Thanks for reading! Do you have any comments or similar experiences? Share your thoughts below. (Even if it's an old post, I'd love to hear from you!)

