Girlfriends are the Best!

Yesterday, a girlfriend texted me and told me that she was praying for me. No particular reason; she was just moved to do so during Eucharistic Adoration. Her text brought tears to my eyes. I thanked her and let her know that she always has a way of sending me a message like that at just the right time. And it’s true. Many times when I feel like I’m drowning, she comes to my rescue. Even if it’s just in the form of a quick text message. It means so much to me.

She was concerned by my response and I explained that I’m fine, just perpetually overwhelmed. Having an infant, a baby, and three wild boys is a lot to get used to. Not to mention we school year round. Life is busy. It’s wonderful, but overwhelming. These days, consuming is a better word. I’m not trying to throw a pity party; I love my life. I really, truly do. This is just a difficult season. I’m grateful for the lessons I’m learning and all the many ways I’m growing as a person, but it’s still tough. Really, really tough.

We made plans to go out for drinks next week so we can catch up, I can unwind, and we can both have a good excuse to wear earrings. I never get to wear earrings these days; the babies just pull them right out. She’s already warned her husband “not to wait up,” but I’m sure we’ll be home by 10. Mornings come quite early at my house.

Our little conversation really brightened my day. And making plans to get out for a couple hours gives me something out of the ordinary to look forward to. I felt so much better, so relieved after that brief little chat. Not because we are going out next week, even though that is really exciting, but because I felt connected. Like I wasn’t alone anymore. Someone else was there for me. I’ve said this many times before, so I don’t know when this lesson will penetrate my thick skull, but I really have to reach out more often when I need to blow off some steam.

Then, as if all of that weren’t enough, this morning, I went out to feed the cat and found this on my front porch.

2014-07-31 08.41.05

Isn’t it cute?!? I looked around hoping to catch the giver, but no one was around. It was early and everything was still calm and quiet.  I looked closer and saw the sweet little post-it note attached. It was a gift from my girlfriend.

2014-07-31 08.40.24She is seriously the sweetest! I was grinning from ear to ear and giggling. I couldn’t wait to see what was in the bag. Truthfully, the bag could have been totally empty and it still would have been great. That unexpected pop of color on my front porch and her sweet little note had already made my day. But the bag was heavy, so it certainly wasn’t empty. What was inside was the best “happy” I’ve ever received. (The group of girls I ran around with in high school would buy little tokens for each other – a bracelet, candy, something related to an inside joke, etc. We called them “happys” because it made you happy to be on either the giving or receiving end.)

2014-07-31 08.54.46

Breakfast for my kiddos and holy water. Seriously – best idea ever!! I can’t think of a sweeter package to drop off on an overwhelmed mom’s porch.

2014-07-31 08.53.24

My kiddos were pretty thrilled about her thoughtful gesture, too. They call sweet breads of any kind “breakfast cake.” When they saw me pull a foil-wrapped rectangle out of the bag, they just knew it had to be “breakfast cake.” They were jumping and squealing and ate most of it in one sitting.

Thank you, thank you, Kathy!! You have been such an extra special gift to me in the last 24 hours and I am so very grateful for our friendship! I look forward to the day I am able to return the gift to you!

Thanks for reading! Do you have any comments or similar experiences? Share your thoughts below. (Even if it's an old post, I'd love to hear from you!)

