Recipe Success

Having access to endless recipes is one of my favorite things about the internet. This week, the internet has rescued me not once, but three times, and each time was a yummy success.

Apple Cider on Halloween

Apple Cider. Halloween 2013.

1. Friday night, Josh and I attended our Schoenstatt Couples Group. The host asked us to bring snacks and libations. The libations were easy – my new spiked apple cider creation is my very favorite drink and perfect for this time of year. I created it on halloween and have made it for myself several times since. It’s simply store-bought apple cider, warmed up, and spiked with Southern Comfort. It is so yummy and festive. It couldn’t be easier to make, and I had the ingredients on hand, so I made a thermos of it to take to our gathering.

The snack was a different matter. My pantry shelves were quite bare, and I certainly wasn’t going to haul all the kids to the grocery, so I had to get creative with what I had. I wanted to make something seasonal, but the only “seasonal” ingredient I had on hand was half a can of pumpkin left over in the fridge from some other recipe. Google to the rescue. After a few minutes of searching I settled on Pumpkin Brownies. I had never heard of this magical delicacy. Who knew you could mix chocolate and pumpkin? Well, it turns out you can, and it’s quite yummy. This recipe was easy, I had all the ingredients on hand, and it came out so pretty (who doesn’t love a beautifully swirled dessert?!) It was definitely a hit because there wasn’t a single crumb left in my baking dish by the end of the night.

2. Saturday night, we went to a friend’s house for dinner. She made a turkey and potatoes and asked us to bring a couple of sides. At Josh’s suggestion, I made my go-to “zesty corn,” which he doesn’t even eat, but he knows it’s easy and makes a pretty presentation. It’s just corn, red & green bell peppers, and a jalapeño cooked with some butter, salt, oregano, and cilantro. For my second dish, I again turned to google. I had a bunch of cauliflower in the fridge so I went with this cauliflower gratin. I’ve never attempted to make my cauliflower creamy or cheesy but it was AAAMAZING. It came out golden brown and bubbly and was so rich and delicious. I plan to use this recipe again on Thanksgiving!

3. Tonight I’m taking dinner to a new mama. She just welcomed twins to her family and she has a one year old and a two year old. The ladies in my homsechool co-op are so good about taking meals to new mamas. Someone always sets up a CareCalendar and we all take turns bringing dishes. I almost always take a variation of this Rosemary Chicken. It’s one dish meal and it’s so easy to make. I usually make two of them. One for the mama and one for us. I throw ours in the oven when I head out the door to deliver the meal, and we come home to dinner ready to eat. I keep disposable aluminum pans on hand and, whenever a new CareCalendar gets posted, I’m ready to go. I just pick a date and get ready to make Rosemary Chicken. I can’t remember how exactly I stumbled across this recipe, but it was the result of a google search, and it has been successful many times.

__

I’m sad to say, I didn’t take pictures of any of these yummy dishes. That’s really strange because I take pictures of EVERYTHING. It’s just what I do. I have a terrible memory, so I take millions of pictures. I want to make sure I don’t forget any of the precious times I share with my family and friends. But, somehow, I didn’t photograph any of these yummy accomplishments. You’ll just have to take my word for how beautifully delicious they were. You’ll have to settle for a picture of the apple cider at our halloween party from last year and these cute pictures of my kitchen helpers.

What were your small successes this week? Share them over at Small Success Thursday!

One thought on “Recipe Success

Thanks for reading! Do you have any comments or similar experiences? Share your thoughts below. (Even if it's an old post, I'd love to hear from you!)

