A is for Action

For the month of April I’m blogging alphabetically about quick, easy, and practical ways to relieve stress. To see the other posts in this series, click here.

2014-09-25 11.06.30Initially, I was planning to write today’s post about art. I was going to talk about getting creative even if you’re not artsy (which I am not). I even read an article recently that talked about the stress-relieving benefits of coloring. “Coloring!” I thought, “That’s perfect! My kids love to color. I could color with them! They would be getting mommy time; I would be relieving stress. Done and done.”

I still may try that. But I decided to start with something more fundamental. If I really want to weed the stress out of my life, I need to own it. I need to decide to do something about it. I need to commit to taking action.

My one year old can’t walk, and it’s probably my fault. I’m not alarmed. She’s developmentally fine. But I carry her on demand. My 2-year-old wants to be carried more than most other two-year-olds. Even my 4-year-old asks to be picked up. I’m really bad about carrying my kids.

I think I’ve been approaching my faith life much like my little ones approach walking. I just reach up and beg God to pick me up. But the fact is, I’m perfectly capable of walking. I might need Him to hold my hand, but I need to put one foot in front of the other. I’ve been so stressed for so long, and I beg God to take it away, but the fact is, I haven’t done much other than whine about how I want to be carried.

So, today is a new day. Today, I begin taking action. Today, I am going to become an active participant in creating my life, not a whinny spectator wishing that things were unfolding differently. As the old saying goes, “Pray as if everything depends on God, work as if everything depends on you.” I’m finally going to take that later part seriously in regards to my stress levels.

4 thoughts on “A is for Action

  1. I have to say, colouring in is something that i find really relaxing. There’s even a new magazine out, called Art Therapy, which is all about giving you picture to colouring in to relax!
    Nice start to the A to Z challenge! Good luck taking your first actions :)

  2. It is a new day. Thanks for posting about taking action. Now I need to get away from this computer and take action on all I have scheduled for today.

Thanks for reading! Do you have any comments or similar experiences? Share your thoughts below. (Even if it's an old post, I'd love to hear from you!)

