E is for Essential Oils

For the month of April I’m blogging alphabetically about quick, easy, and practical ways to relieve stress. To see the other posts in this series, click here.

half bakedI really, really wanted to say, “E is for EAT!” but I figured that’s probably not a great idea for long-term stress management. Let’s be real though – the world looks so much brighter after indulging in Ben & Jerry’s Half Baked Ice Cream or gorging on some chocolate covered pretzels. True story.

But for a much healthier stress relief technique, I remembered my old friend, essential oils. I used to be obsessed with essential oils. But then I forgot about them. At one point I started to run out of all of my favorites at one time, which would have been really expensive to replace, so I didn’t. Instead of just buying a few at a time until I restocked, I just kind of forgot about them. The few I have left are in my medicine cabinet collecting dust.

Here’s the thing – essential oils are amazing! My favorites are from a company called Butterfly Express. I love them because they offer quality oils, but they’re not a direct sales company, which means you don’t have to deal with the pushy independent sales consultants or the sky high direct sales prices. If you want to get started in essential oils, there’s a ton of information on the Butterfly Express website. Unfortunately, it’s not the best designed website in the world, so it takes some getting used to. If you have the patience to click around, you can really learn a lot.

One of the coolest things about Butterfly Express is they make a lot of unique oil blends. The blends makes it super easy for a newbie to get started. On the info page for each blend, they give a list of all the physical and emotional benefits. One of my very favorite blends is called Tranquility. It is AMAZING!! It used to be my emotional life support. And, starting first thing tomorrow, it’s coming back into my life front and center.

tranquilityTranquility does just what you would think it would. It promotes peace and calm and relieves stress and anxiety. When the kids are getting too wild, I can diffuse some tranquility, and, before too long, they’ve all calmed down and started doing something quietly without me even having to ask. I also used to use it in the car. I’d take the cap off the bottle and let it drift through the car to ensure peaceful car trips, whether we were going around the corner or across the state. My favorite way to use it was in the shower. I’d put a few drops in a corner that doesn’t get too wet, and let it rise up with the steam. It was my favorite way to prepare myself for a stressful day or calm down after I had already experienced one.

I just checked my cabinet and I have quite a bit of Tranquility left. I can’t believe I’ve left it sitting abandoned for so long, when I really could have benefitted from it. Once again, I find that I have what I need to combat my street right at my finger tips. I just have to make the effort to use it. That seems to be a running theme for me as I write these posts.

3 thoughts on “E is for Essential Oils

  1. I haven’t really used these in the past. I always thought they involved complicated procedures such as burning them etc. In the shower or opening a bottle seems easy enough though :) Enjoy your new found tranquility, Cheryl

    • Hey Cheryl! Thanks for following my A to Z posts!
      The most complicated I ever get with the oil is using one of those wax melter thingies (I think that’s the technical term…) I put some water in the top where the wax usually sits and put a few drops of oil in it. As it heats the water, it diffuses the oil. Most of the time, I just open the bottle or pour a few drops out into a dish. I borrowed a fancy diffuser from a friend once, but I didn’t like it at all. I thought it was complicated, and I didn’t think it worked any better than the simple methods I use. Keep it simple, right?

  2. I love essential oils. I am a distributor of Young Living but only for the discount. I’m a horrible salesperson. ;) I will have to take a look at Butterfly Expressions. Who doesn’t need more tranquility in their life? Thanks for the information!

Thanks for reading! Do you have any comments or similar experiences? Share your thoughts below. (Even if it's an old post, I'd love to hear from you!)

