H is for Hope

For the month of April I’m blogging alphabetically about quick, easy, and practical ways to relieve stress. To see the other posts in this series, click here.

H was supposed to be for hydrate. When I am adequately hydrated, I have more focus, am less irritable, and have more energy. All of this things are good for keeping my stress levels down. I’ve also learned that it takes much more than the standard “8 glasses a day” to keep me hydrated. For me, it take closer to 3.5 quarts. Seriously. More if it’s really hot or I’m working really hard. But, for some reason, I struggle to keep myself hydrated. I was going to talk about ways to work on getting all that water in me every day.

Josh and Ben standing on the edge of Lookout Mountain. Chattanooga, TN

Josh and Ben standing on the edge of Lookout Mountain. Chattanooga, TN

But I changed my mind. Because, for me, at this point in the A to Z challenge, H is for hope.

I have learned so much about myself in the last couple of weeks. I had really dug myself into a deep, deep rut. If you’ve been around my blog for a while, you might remember that in the past 5 years I have either been working outside of the home or attending graduate school while I homeschool my kiddos. For two of those years there was an overlap when I was doing all three things. I wouldn’t take those crazy years back for anything, but I really developed some bad habits during that period of my life. Apparently, those habits have stuck with me. My life was so frazzled and so hectic during that time. Things have calmed down a lot since I resigned and graduated, but I haven’t. I’m still acting like I’m running around with my hair on fire.

Working through this challenge and blogging about ways to reduce my stress has really caused me to ponder how I got this stressed out in the first place, what’s maintaining this level of stress, and, obviously, what I can do about it. Spending all this time thinking about these things has really been good for me.

I have felt like I have been drowning for so long. For the first time in a long time, I’m remembering that I know how to swim. I have confidence that I can conquer this stress and regain some sanity, both for me and my family. I’m finally remembering that I am in charge of my life, it’s not in charge of me. For the first time in a long time, I feel really hopefully about today and all the days to come.

One thought on “H is for Hope

  1. Pingback: J is for Journaling | JUST ANOTHER DAY IN PARADISE

Thanks for reading! Do you have any comments or similar experiences? Share your thoughts below. (Even if it's an old post, I'd love to hear from you!)

