I – “Is It Really That Bad?”

For the month of April I’m blogging alphabetically about quick, easy, and practical ways to relieve stress. To see the other posts in this series, click here.

don't forgetI might be the queen of catastrophic thinking. I really hate to admit that. It’s one of my least favorite traits. Luckily, it’s not actually a trait at all. It’s just faulty thinking. With some work, I can change this about myself.

My extreme catastrophic thinking basically means I go from small problem to life-altering-negative-consequences in about 2.5 seconds. It’s not rational, it’s not providing a good example to my kiddos, and it’s certainly not good for my stress levels and emotional well-being.

To get started on breaking this habit, I’m going to start asking myself a simple question. “Is it really that bad?” When things seem to be spiraling out of control, I’m going to ask myself, “Is it really that bad?” When I seem to have made a fatal parenting error, I’m going to ask myself, “Is it really that bad?” When I realize we did the entire science project wrong or left a key ingredient out of the cake, or made a wrong turn, I’m going to ask, “Is it really that bad? Or does it just seem really bad in this moment to me?”

My most recent A to Z epiphany is that a little change in perspective can make a huge difference. I’m going to start really working on checking my perspective to make sure it’s realistic and rational. If it’s true that perception is reality, changing my perception can change my reality.

Remember those “W.W.J.D?” bracelets that were really big among church kids back in the 90s? I feel like I need to make myself one that says I.I.R.T.B? I guess it’s not quite as catchy, but it would remind me to check my thinking when I’m starting to freak out. Maybe I’ll just tie a string around my finger. One way or another, I’m going to find a way to remember to ask myself, “It is really that bad?”

One thought on “I – “Is It Really That Bad?”

  1. Pingback: Make A List | JUST ANOTHER DAY IN PARADISE

Thanks for reading! Do you have any comments or similar experiences? Share your thoughts below. (Even if it's an old post, I'd love to hear from you!)

