Nip Negative Thinking

For the month of April I’m blogging alphabetically about quick, easy, and practical ways to relieve stress. To see the other posts in this series, click here.

negative thoughts

As much as I don’t want to be, I’m a pessimist. When I was in high school, I used to proudly proclaim, “Expect the worst and you’ll never be disappointed.” Not exactly a slogan to live by.

Actually, I like to think of myself as a recovering pessimist. But, unfortunately, I have frequent relapses. Especially when I’m stressed.

I don’t have to write paragraphs to explain why negative thinking doesn’t help my stress levels. It’s just fuel on the fire.

So, I thought I’d turn negative into something positive. I made a little acrostic poem to remind myself that negative, pessimistic thinking isn’t helpful. More that that, whatever I’m thinking probably isn’t even true.

Not

Even

Gonna

Allow

Those

Inaccurate

Voices

(to) Encroach

Booya, negativity! I just made you into something positive.

(Haha! I think that’s probably the first (and hopefully only) time I’ve ever used the word “booya” in my life. Unfortunately for me, I put it in writing, so now this moment is immortal.)

One thought on “Nip Negative Thinking

Thanks for reading! Do you have any comments or similar experiences? Share your thoughts below. (Even if it's an old post, I'd love to hear from you!)

