Z – Oops I Did It Again

For the month of April I’m blogging alphabetically about quick, easy, and practical ways to relieve stress. To see the other posts in this series, click here.

ZI did it agin! I forgot poor, little, ol’ Z. I did the same thing last year. I don’t know why I do that. I guess I get so excited about the challenge ending that I just get a little ahead of myself.

In all honesty, I wasn’t that excited about my Z post this year. I was going to write about ZZZzzzzs. You know? Like sleeping. Haha cute, right? I was going to talk about how, if I’m tired, I need to listen to my body and nap. And not feel guilty about it. Because I need to take care of myself. And if my body says it’s tired, it must be tired. And I should listen.

But it felt like I’ve already covered that. Or at least that general idea.

The fact is, I need to take care of myself. It’s not selfish to take care of myself. It’s imperative. If I ran a factory making some in demand product that could only be made with a specialty machine, you can bet I would take extra special care of that specialty machine. I’m obviously not a factory, or a machine, but I am the only mom my kids have and the only wife my husband has. I need to take care of myself so that I can take care of them the way I should, the way I want to.

Actually, the machine thing isn’t a great analogy. I don’t like a lot of what it implies. All I’m trying to say is that those factory owners would take care of their specialty machine. They would provide it with proper maintenance, they would fix it when it was broken, they would keep it stocked with whatever parts it needed. And they wouldn’t be annoyed about those things. They would want to do those things, and they would budget for those things because they would want to keep that machine in top-notch condition. Surely I can treat myself better than those hypothetical factory owners treat their machines, right?

One thought on “Z – Oops I Did It Again

Thanks for reading! Do you have any comments or similar experiences? Share your thoughts below. (Even if it's an old post, I'd love to hear from you!)

